Lady Broncos highlight All-District 1-4A awards

Matt Hollinshead,
Kirtland Central's Siigrid Lii'bilnaghahi attacks the basket Española Valley's Kaylinn Martinez (23) the 4A state semifinals on Thursday, March 14 at Dreamstyle Arena in Albuquerque. Lii'bilnaghahi and three other KC players made District 1-4A's first team.

FARMINGTON — The Kirtland Central Lady Broncos reaped the first major reward of their 4A state finals run, highlighting the All-District 1-4A selections.

Devon Manning was named district coach of the year, going 27-4 in his first season at the helm.

Tatelyn Manheimer, Tiajhae Nez, Siigrid Lii’bilnaghahi and Avery Begay all earned first-team honors, while Melanie Yazzie and Aubrey Thomas earned second-team honors.

Monique Shim and Jaymie Smart were honorable mentions.

Despite losing 49-43 to Los Lunas, which won its four state title in seven years, Kirtland made the state championship game for the first time since 2012.

Manheimer, Yazzie, Shim and Smart are among Kirtland’s key returners next season.

Other first-team honors

Shiprock’s Evette Lansing and Kimora Tso made the list, as well as Bloomfield’s Halle Payne and Aztec’s Reigan Weaver.

Despite going 10-18, Shiprock made the 4A state playoffs. The Lady Chieftains lost 65-28 at Kirtland in the opening round.

Boys hoops first-team picks

Bloomfield’s Rogelio Gonzales and Josh Boehm made the list, as did Shiprock’s Shannon Dale and Tyler Peters.

Aztec’s Dom Faverino and Kirtland’s Brock Dowdy also earned first-team honors.

Matt Hollinshead covers sports for the Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564–4577.