$1 for 3 months. Save 97%.
$1 for 3 months. Save 97%.

Seven area girls hoops players in All-Star games

The Daily Times staff
Aztec's Myra McCaskill looks to contest a 3-point shot by Bloomfield's Brandi Alcantar during a District 1-5A game on Jan. 20 at Bobcat Gym. McCaskill and Alcantar will play in the 5A/6A All-Star game on June 8.

FARMINGTON – Seven area girls basketball players will step onto the court at least more time before their high school careers end, taking part in this year’s North-South All-Star games on June 8 at Albuquerque High School.

Bloomfield’s Brandi Alcantar, Kirtland Central’s Haile Gleason, Piedra Vista’s Dani Russo and Aztec’s Myra McCaskill will unite playing for the 5A/6A North squad.

Shiprock’s Kylie McKinley and Tia Woods and Navajo Prep’s Shundiina Fisaga will play for the 3A/4A North team.

The New Mexico High School Coaches Association announced the All-Star game rosters today.

Shiprock's Tia Woods draws a foul attacking the basket against Portales' Zamorye Cox (11) and Sarah Lovato (3) during the 4A state semifinals on March 8 in Albuquerque. Woods is one of three area players that will play in the 3A/4A All-Star game on June 8.

Bloomfield (26-6) reached the 5A state finals, while Kirtland Central (18-11) and Shiprock (20-10) reached the 5A state semifinals and 4A state semifinals, respectively.

PV (23-7) reached the 6A state quarterfinals, while Navajo Prep (12-14) secured a first-round 4A state playoff game. Aztec (9-15) did not make this year’s 5A state playoffs.

The 3A/4A game will start at 6 p.m., followed by the 5A/6A game at 8 p.m.

North 5A/6A Girls All-Star Team

Myra McCaskill (Aztec)

Kayla Martinez (Cibola)

Amaya Brown (Cibola)

Kamirah Decker (Rio Rancho)

Kesley Crist (Albuquerque Academy)

Teya Morris (Clovis)

Brooke Nelson (La Cueva)

Vivian Chavez (Eldorado)

Catessa Duran (Eldorado)

Haile Gleason (Kirtland Central)

Dani Russo (Piedra Vista)

Brandi Alcantar (Bloomfield)

South 5A/6A Girls All-Star Team

Kiara Knight (Hobbs)

Amaya Lewis (Hobbs)

Gracie Puentes (Artesia)

Camarynn Villalpando (Goddard)

Taylor Reed (St. Pius)

Hayley Torres (Los Lunas)

Maya Trujillo (Los Lunas)

Mica Jenrette (Los Lunas)

Mariel Gomez (Carlsbad)

Janessa Johnson (Las Cruces)

Valeria Valtierra (Las Cruces)

Sarah Abney (Las Cruces)

North 3A/4A Girls All-Star Team

Destiny Gonzales (Bernalillo)

Kalian Mitchell (Tohatchi)

Shundiina Fisaga (Navajo Prep)

Tia Woods (Shiprock)

Kylie McKinley (Shiprock)

Aaliyah Quintana (Taos)

Jenna Bustos (West Las Vegas)

Destiny Romero (Pecos)

Alexis Leekela (Zuni)

Angelica Montoya (Robertson)

Brianna Roybal (Robertson)

Shania Thronas (Pojoaque Valley)

South 3A/4A Girls All-Star Team

Aysia Salas (Silver)

Audryahna Baca (Socorro)

Alyssa Carrasco (Loving)

Mackenzie Haakma (Texico)

Maryelle Dickerman (Texico)

Jada Jones (Eunice)

Kelly Fraze (Portales)

Lindsay Blakey (Portales)

Emerald Russell (Moriarty)

Alyssa Adams (Moriarty)

Brianna Fong (Clayton)

Zamorye Cox (Portales)