Connie Mack City Tournament starts Tuesday

The Daily Times staff
Flat Bill's Michael DeHerrera retreats back to first base against Strike Zone's Marley Descheney during a City League baseball game on Wednesday, July 11 at Ricketts Park. Flat Bill will face the Rivercats in Tuesday's City Tournament opener.

FARMINGTON – The best of the area’s baseball scene will battle for their place in the 2018 Connie Mack World Series, starting with the City Tournament on Tuesday night at Ricketts Park.

The six teams competing for the title are the Farmington Fuel, the Rivercats, Strike Zone-A, Strike Zone-D, the Dirtbags and Flat Bill.

Although Flat Bill’s 2017 lineup largely consisted of Aztec High players, its 2018 lineup includes Bloomfield’s Michael DeHerrera and Durango, Colorado’s Keegan D’Aleo.

Defending City Tournament champion 4-C Club Sox, coached by former Piedra Vista skipper Mike McGaha, will not be in this year's City Tournament pool.

The Club Sox earned an automatic CMWS bid after winning the American Amateur Baseball Congress Mountain West regional tournament on Sunday.

Strike Zone-D and the Dirtbags will go at it in the City Tournament opener at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, followed by Flat Bill and the Rivercats at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Strike Zone-A and the Farmington Fuel both have first-round byes on Tuesday.

Elijah Gamboa of the Rivercats fires a pitch against Strike Zone during a City League baseball game on Tuesday, July 10 at Ricketts Park. The Rivercats will face Flat Bill to open the 2018 City Tournament.

2018 City Tournament schedule


Strike Zone-D vs. Dirtbags, 5:30 p.m. at Ricketts

Flat Bill vs. Rivercats, 8 p.m. at Ricketts


Farmington Fuel vs. Strike Zone-D/Dirtbags winner, 5:30 p.m. at Ricketts

Strike Zone-A vs. Flat Bill/Rivercats winner, 8 p.m. at Ricketts

Strike Zone-D/Dirtbags loser vs. Flat Bill/Rivercats loser in consolation game, 8 p.m. at Worley Field


Consolation game, 5:30 p.m. at Ricketts

Winners bracket game, 8 p.m. at Ricketts


Semifinals, 5:30 p.m. and 8 p.m. at Ricketts


Championship game, 5:30 p.m. at Ricketts

Championship game No. 2 (if needed), 8 p.m. at Ricketts