Durango's Brent Winebarger wins his third Road Apple Rally title since 2015

Matt Hollinshead, mhollinshead@daily-times.com

FARMINGTON — Brent Winebarger didn’t let the COVID-19 pandemic stop him from continuing his recent dominance at the Road Apple Rally, securing his third professional division title since 2015.

The Durango cyclist logged a winning time of one hour, 40 minutes and 14 seconds.

William Farmer (1:48:03) took second overall in the pro race, while Bryan Klock (1:59:59) placed third.

Brent Winebarger, number 288, Mick Harris, number 200, and Guy Leshem, number 278, compete, Saturday, Oct. 5, 2019, in the Road Apple Rally in Farmington.

Durango’s Katherine Daley won the female division with a time of 2:17:37 in the Category 1 long-course race.

Gene Hilton (1:57:19) had the best overall time in the Category 1 long-course competition, while Matthew Arviso (2:20:43) won the Category 2 long-course race.

James Simmons (2:09:02) won the event’s single speed category.

Brett Lanier (54 minutes, 54 seconds) had the best overall time in the Category 3 short-course race.

Derek Rawson (2:59:18) won the Category 2 Clydesdale long-course race, while Jack Dowdy (1:22:39) won the Category 3 Clydesdale short-course title.

Farmington’s 40th annual cycling event went virtual amid COVID-19, and it was spread out during the time window of Oct. 3-17. Competitors used the mobile apps Strava and MTB Project to record and submit their results.

The results and award presentations were live-streamed on Facebook Live on Friday, with Clancy’s Irish Cantina hosting the ceremony.

For more results, visit http://www.fmtn.org/277/Road-Apple-Rally.

Bicyclists participate in the Road Apple Rally, Saturday, Oct. 6, 2019, in Farmington.

Matt Hollinshead covers sports for the Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4577 and on Twitter at @MattH_717.

Support local journalism with a digital subscription: http://bit.ly/2I6TU0e