EnFuego Elite set for first series appearance

Karl Schneider
EnFuego Elite

EnFuego Elite will be part of the Connie Mack World Series for the first time in the program’s history.

"We’ve been in the West Region for many, many years and had to compete against the teams from California and Arizona, and we’ve only had one team out of this (Northwest) region make it to Farmington (in 1999)," Elite General Manager Dean Foster said. “But this year we have our own region with the Northwest and all of Canada, so we didn’t have to go through the California and Arizona guys to get there.”

Six teams competed in the Northwest Regional in July. Foster said the level of competition "wasn’t spectacular," but it still gave the EnFuego program challenges.

Elite’s roster consists of players from around the Pacific Northwest, stretching down the West Coast and even to Hawaii.

"We’re bringing guys from the Seattle area and all over," Foster said. "We have guys from Hawaii, California, and Boise, Idaho, and we have guys from the South Sound area, which is south of Seattle. We bring our guys in from a little bit of everywhere."

Two of the top arms in Elite’s pitching rotation will be Parker DePasquale, from Bountiful, Utah, and Nick Flesher, a lefty from Boise. Canadian Corey Jackson will also have a role with Elite’s pitching staff and will get his first chance to get acclimated to New Mexico before joining New Mexico Junior College’s program.

Foster pointed out two players he expects to have an impact on Elite’s offense: Zach Inskeep, a first baseman and catcher out of Coos Bay, Ore., who is committed to Washington State University, and outfielder Sami Baig, who has lethal speed on the base paths and is heading to the University of New Mexico’s baseball program.

2016 Connie Mack World Series preview

A Closer Look

Coach: Dean Foster

Hometown: Seattle

Region: Northwest/Canada

Roster (number, name)

1 Andreas Stark

2 Trevor Gregory

3 Cade Warren

4 Davis Zerr

6 Stephen Maples

7 Johnny Sage

8 Matthew Dietz

9 Patrick Goodwin

10 Corey Jackson

11 Sam Abbott

12 Parker DePasquale

13 Marco Caleron

18 Michael Kramer

21 Zach Inskeep

24 Dakota Hawkins

25 Sami Baig

27 Daniel Copeland

29 Rhyse Frey

30 Nick Flesher

33 Skyler Hunter

40 Kristian Hellberg

43 Connor Coerper