East Cobb looks for third title in four years

Karl Schneider
East Cobb Yankees

The East Cobb Yankees are back in the Connie Mack World Series, and they're looking for their third title in four years.

The Yankees, out of Marietta, Ga., won last year’s world series crown with a 7-5 victory over Prairie Gravel.

But East Cobb coach James Beavers said this year’s squad, which earned its way to the series by winning the Southeast Regional, is different than last year’s.

"It’s kind of a whole different group. We lost a lot of guys from last year," Beavers said. "I had some concern because we are really young this year. We have a lot of 17 and 16 year olds. But in a lot of ways I’m very pleased with how we played this year to get back out (to Farmington). When the year started, I really didn’t know what it might bring, but we’re excited to be there."

Beavers pointed out three players from last year’s team whose leadership will be welcomed assets this time around. Returning to Farmington will be outfielder Kyle Jacobsen, who Beavers said is a top-10 prospect for the class of 2017. Also set to come back to Ricketts Park are Tucker Maxwell and Kyle McCann, who provides the Yankees with power hitting in the middle of the lineup.

On the mound, Beavers said one of the team's strengths comes from having a variety of styles, which keeps opposing batters uncomfortable at the plate.

"We’ve thrown pretty well, and we have a lot of different kinds of arms. It’s not a situation where guys are going to throw low to mid 90s — we don’t have a lot of like that — but we’ve had a lot of guys really step up and do a great job for us," Beavers said.

At the top of the East Cobb rotation is a duo of Georgia Tech signees in Garrett Gooden and Xzavion Curry, and Zack Graveno, who inked with Mercer University.

2016 Connie Mack World Series preview

A Closer Look

Coach: James Beavers

Hometown: Marietta, Ga.

Region: Southeast 

Roster (number, player, position)

1 Billy Zinnershire, INF

2 Austin Whilhite, INF/P

3 Xzavion Curry, INF/P

5 Colin Hall, OF

7 Parker Orr, C

9 Jason Avers, C

10 Nick Wilhite, OF/P

11 Tucker Maxwell, OF

12 Nic Dye, P

14 Zack Graveno, P

15 Michael Guldberg, INF/OF

16 Kyle McCann, C

17 Griffin Jolliff, P/INF

18 Garrett Gooden, P/UTL

21 Andy Archer, P

22 Brian DeCarlo, P

24 Joseph Mannelly, P/INF

25 Cole McNamee, INF/P

31 Jordan Ward, P

32 Devin Warner, INF

34 Brady Scott, P

35 Brady Eeles, INF/P

41 Josh Lowe, INF/P

57 Kyle Jacobsen, OF