D-BAT Elite 17U hopes to build on its success

Karl Schneider
D-BAT Elite-Bonesio

With one world series already in the books, there's a little less pressure on D-BAT Elite 17U as the Dallas-based squad enters the Connie Mack World Series.

In late July, the team won the 17U Don Mattingly World Series in Surprise, Ariz., earning a bid into the CMWS.

"It was pretty grueling. We played six games in five days, and with it being 110 to112 degrees, our kids were really resilient," said coach Ryan Robertson of the Don Mattingly tournament. "We played a 15-inning game that went four and a half hours, and ended up winning it in the 15th inning. Our kids were really resilient and mentally tough."

The D-BAT team earned the Don Mattingly World Series title with a 7-6 victory over another D-BAT team. That team, D-BAT Elite-Schkade, also pushed the15-inning marathon game in the tournament’s quarterfinals, which also ended with a score of 7-6.

After the draining world series run, Robertson gave his team a few days off to celebrate the title and recover. But he said he had his players back on the diamond for the final few days before making the trip to Farmington.

Fortunately for D-BAT Elite 17U, the team has stayed relatively healthy this summer and enters the Connie Mack tourney near full-strength.

"Like everyone else, we’re dealing with some end-of-the-season scrapes and bruises, but overall we’re pretty healthy," Robertson said.

Leading the team will be a trio of players who have already committed to NCAA Division I programs. Noah Sifirt, a left-handed pitcher and centerfielder, pledged his services to Oklahoma State University, and Heston Kjerstad, a shortstop who also plays in the outfield, committed to the University of Arkansas. And right-handed pitcher and infielder Jimmy Glowenke will stay close to home with a commitment to Dallas Baptist University.

2016 Connie Mack World Series preview

A Closer Look

Coach: Ryan Robertson

Hometown: Dallas

Region: Don Mattingly World Series 

Roster (number, name, position)

0 Jake Pfeiffer, P

1 Noah Sifrit, OF

2 Colton Snelling, OF

3 Jimmy Glowenke, INF

5 Jack Schuler, INF

6 Doger Gilliland, C

11 Braxton Fulford, C

13 Gray Rodgers, P/UTL

14 Luke Scaggs, P

16 Michael Leaumont, P

17 Josh Thurman, P/INF

18 Heston Kjerstad, INF/OF

19 Morgan McCloud, P

21 Chandler Kramer, P

23 Jackson Kennemore, OF

24 Garrett Wright, INF

31 Braden Merritt, OF

42 Cole Maxwell, P/INF

44 Tyler Navarro, P