East Cobb, Prairie Gravel dominate awards at Connie Mack World Series

Karl Schneider
The Daily Times

FARMINGTON — After battling through a controversial championship game at the 2015 Connie Mack World Series last week, the champion East Cobb Yankees and runner-up Prairie Gravel dominated the post-tournament awards.

The Yankees and Prairie Gravel combined for nine of the 15 spots on the All-Tournament team.

East Cobb's Carter Kieboom (third base), Justin Evans (shortstop), Joseph Bart (catcher), Carter Hall (outfield), and Keyton Gibson (pitcher) all landed on the All-Tournament team.

Michael Massey (second base), Daulton Ryans (designated hitter), Jacob VanderWal (outfield) and Connor Manous (pitcher) represented Prairie Gravel on the team.

D-BAT Elite and the Southern California Renegades each had two players earn all-tourney honors.

D-BAT's Robert Salazar (first base) and Darius Hill (outfield) received nods, along with Southern California's Jay Schuyler (utility) and CJ Broussard (pitcher).

Louisiana Elite outfielder Travis Swaggerty and Midland pitcher Rodney Hutchison Jr. rounded out the All-Tournament team.

East Cobb's Kieboom cleaned up the individual awards, winning the MVP, Big Stick and Batting Champion awards. He finished the series with a batting average of .643, a .667 on-base percentage and a slugging percentage of .714.

East Cobb outfielder Kyle Jacobsen was awarded the tournament's Gold Glove award.

Prairie Gravel was awarded the Team Sportsmanship award after falling 7-5 in a shortened championship game to East Cobb.

Karl Schneider is the sports editor of The Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4648 and Follow him @karltschneider on Twitter.