What's on the ballot in the 2018 Navajo Nation elections?

The Daily Times staff

Here are the candidates running for races listed on ballots for chapters in the Northern Agency on the Navajo Nation. The general election is Nov. 6. See the candidates for San Juan County races.

MORE:Nez, Shirley square off in first Navajo Nation presidential debate


Navajo Nation President and Vice President

  • Jonathan Nez and Myron Lizer
  • Joe Shirley Jr. and Buu Van Nygren

Navajo Nation Council – Shiprock Chapter

  • Vern R. Lee
  • Eugenia Charles-Newton

Navajo Nation Council – Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tsé Daa K'aan, Upper Fruitland Chapters

  • Rickie Nez
  • Matthew Tso

Navajo Nation Council – Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills, Tooh Haltsooí Chapters

  • Amber Kanazbah Crotty
  • Irvin Tyler

Navajo Nation Council – Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos, Tólikan Chapters

  • Charlaine Tso
  • Davis Filfred

Navajo Nation Board of Election Supervisors - Northern Agency

  • Watona Kellywood

Navajo Nation Board of Education - At Large

  • Jeanne Haskie
  • Freda K. Nells

Tooh Haltsooí Council of Naataani Vice President

  • Louise Charley
  • Ernest Smith

Names in italics are incumbents

MORE:Yazzie appeals decision about Nez's presidential candidacy


Voters will decide whether to approve a salary increase for the Navajo Nation president and vice president.

A "yes" vote means that the tribal president and vice president will get a salary increase.

A "no" vote means that the salary for the tribal president and vice president remains the same amount under the current law.

If the voter selects "yes" then they select an amount from three options listed on the ballot.

Option 1 sets the salary for the president at $85,000 and the salary for the vice president at $70,000.

Option 2 sets the salary for the president at $95,000 and the salary for the vice president at $80,000.

Option 3 sets the salary for the president at $102,000 and the salary for the vice president at $87,000.


Important dates

Oct. 22

  • The deadline to submit an application to receive an absentee ballot by mail

Nov. 2

  • Last day to vote on walk-in basis at any of the agency offices for the Navajo Election Administration in Shiprock and Crownpoint, and in Chinle, Tuba City and Window Rock in Arizona

Nov. 6

  • General Election Day

Want to know more? Visit navajoelections.navajo-nsn.gov.


Where to vote

Early voting is taking place at each of the agency offices for the Navajo Election Administration. Offices are open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays and closed from noon to 1 p.m.

  1. Northern Agency Election Office - Navajo Nation building No. 2583, south of the east 7-2-11 Food Store in Shiprock, 866-659-5842
  2. Eastern Agency Election Office - Inside the former Navajo Nation Public Safety Building, Intersection of Highway 9 and Chaco Boulevard in Crownpoint, 888-508-6870
  3. Fort Defiance Agency Election Office - Navajo Nation Quality Inn office complex, Suite 204 in Window Rock, Arizona, 866-800-4988
  4. Chinle Agency Election Office - The double wide trailer located southwest of the Chinle Chapter house in Chinle, Arizona, 866-387-9352
  5. Western Agency Election Office - Navajo Nation building No. 2775, southeast of the community center and three trailers east of the Industrial Laundry in Tuba City, Arizona, 888-508-4970

Source: Navajo Election Administration

Related news coverage:

Navajo presidential candidates meet in debate

Yazzie appeals ruling about Nez's candidacy

Navajo Nation VP cleared for run for presidency

Voters select Nez, Shirley in primary election

Override targets veto for salary increases

President Begaye vetoes salary referendum

Begaye to consider salary increase proposal

Tribe's primary election results certified