Primary elections will set stage for November

Several races will be decided when voters in New Mexico head to the polls on Tuesday

Brett Berntsen
Election supply bags sit in a hallway on Monday ahead of Tuesday's primary elections at the San Juan County Clerk's Office in Aztec.

FARMINGTON — The Democratic and Republican primary elections on Tuesday will decide several local races and set the stage for the general election.

In contested races on the Republican side, Randy Pacheco and Jon Beckstead are competing for the District 5 seat on the San Juan County Commission. The winner will run uncontested in the general election Nov. 8.

Tanya Shelby and Jim Johnson are vying to become the Republican Party's candidate for county clerk. Whoever wins the race will go on to face Democrat Zac George, of Crownpoint, in November.

Michael Romero, of Vadito, is competing against Michael Lucero, of Jemez Pueblo, to represent New Mexico's 3rd Congressional District in the U.S. House Representatives. The winner will face incumbent U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Luján, D-Santa Fe.

At left, Dessie Everett, a presiding election judge, goes over the contents of an election supply bag with Vicki Leonard, an employee of the San Juan County Clerk's Office, on Monday at the office in Aztec.

In the Democratic primaries, Farmington residents Rebecca Morgan and Matt Dodson are competing for the state Senate District 1 seat. The winner will face incumbent Sen. Bill Sharer, R-Farmington.

In the state House of Representatives, Kevin Mitchell and Doreen Johnson are running to represent District 5, which includes parts of McKinley and San Juan counties. The winner of that race will run unopposed in November.

Ronald Begay, presiding judge for the Tsé Al Náoztii Chapter, carries out his election supply bag on Monday at the San Juan County Clerk's Office in Aztec.

Voters can cast their ballots from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday at 34 polling sites in San Juan County.

For a list of locations and wait times, go to the San Juan County Clerk's Office website, sjcclerk.net.

New Mexico has closed primaries, meaning voters must be registered as a Democrat or a Republican to cast a ballot.

Brett Berntsen covers government for The Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4606.