Absentee voting starts for Navajo Nation Aug. 2 primary election

Noel Lyn Smith
Farmington Daily Times

FARMINGTON — Absentee voting has started for the Navajo Nation's Aug. 2 primary election.

Voters who want to vote by absentee ballot can do so by mail or by visiting any of the Navajo Election Administration's offices in Shiprock and Crownpoint, and in Chinle, Tuba City and Window Rock in Arizona.

However, the deadline varies for early voting by mail or in person.

To obtain an absentee ballot by mail, the application must be physically in the election administration's offices by July 18.

The application to request an absentee ballot is online under the "forms" tab on the election administration website, navajoelections.navajo-nsn.gov.

More:Laila Charley signs letter of intent to Haskell Indian Nations University

Voters in Shiprock wait on Nov. 3, 2020 to cast their ballots in the tribe's general election for chapter government offices.

Voters have until 7 p.m. on Aug. 2 to return absentee ballots by mail, according to the election administration.

Virginia Nelson, voter registration specialist at the election office in Shiprock, said if voters are dropping off ballots on Aug. 2, they must submit the ballot to the election administration's offices, not at their chapter precinct.

The last day for early voting in person at any of the election administration's offices is July 29.

More:Fireworks light up Shiprock sky as Navajo Nation marks Fourth of July

Who is running for offices?

Below are the official candidates for the primary election, listed by ballot position and for the Navajo Nation presidency and offices in the Northern Agency. Names in italics are incumbents.

The top two finishers in each race advance to the general election in November.

Navajo Nation President

  • Earl L. Sombrero
  • Dr. Dolly Manson
  • Dineh Benally
  • Justin Jones
  • Buu Nygren
  • Emily Ellison
  • Kevin Cody
  • Sandra D. Jeff
  • Frankie (Nelson) Davis
  • Jonathan Nez
  • Leslie M. Tsosie
  • Ethel Branch
  • Greg H. Bigman
  • Frank Dayish
  • Dr. Rosanna Jumbo-Fitch

Navajo Nation Council

Shiprock Chapter

  • Eugenia Charles-Newton
  • Dan Smith Sr.
  • Debra A. Yazzie
  • Russell Begaye
  • Richard T. Begaye
  • Dr. J "Kaibah" Begay

Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan chapters

  • Eleanor Smith
  • Davis Filfred
  • Verma Y. Francisco
  • Charlaine Tso
  • Robert Redhouse
  • Curtis Yanito

Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills, Tooh Haltsooí and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í chapters

  • Amber Kanazbah Crotty
  • Lindsey Leighann Benally

Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tsé Daa K'aan and Upper Fruitland chapters

  • Matthew D. Tso
  • Rickie Nez

Navajo Board of Education

  • Freda K. Nells

Navajo Board of Election Supervisors

  • William Lee
  • Watona Kellywood

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636 or by email at nsmith@daily-times.com.

Support local journalism with a digital subscription: http://bit.ly/2I6TU0e