New Navajo Nation Council delegate sworn in

Noel Lyn Smith
Farmington Daily Times
Carl Roessel Slater, left, takes the oath of office for the Navajo Nation Council on Oct. 10 in Window Rock, Arizona.

FARMINGTON — Carl Roessel Slater was sworn into office for the Navajo Nation Council on Oct. 10, according to a press release from the Office of the Speaker.

Slater will represent the Lukachukai, Rock Point, Round Rock, Tsaile-Wheatfields and Tsé Ch'ízhí chapters.

He was surrounded by family when Chief Justice JoAnn Jayne administered the oath of office to him at the council chamber in Window Rock, Arizona, the release states.

Slater is a member of Round Rock Chapter and won the special election on Sept. 24.

The Navajo Board of Election Supervisors certified the results on Oct. 10 during a regular meeting in Window Rock.

Slater will serve on the Health, Education and Human Services Committee. He will also serve on the subcommittees for the Navajo Community Development Financial Institution and the Síhasin Fund.

He succeeds Nelson BeGaye on the tribal council. BeGaye resigned in July due to health reasons.