FARMINGTON — Navajo Nation Council delegates from chapters in the Northern Agency are among those selected to lead the council's standing committees.

Delegate Eugenia Charles-Newton, who represents Shiprock Chapter, was chosen chairperson for the Law and Order Committee.

Committee members selected Delegate Otto Tso, who represents a Western Agency chapter, as the vice chairperson.

Delegate Rick Nez was appointed chairperson and Delegate Thomas Walker Jr. was named vice chairperson for the Resources and Development Committee.

Nez represents Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tsé Daa K'aan and Upper Fruitland chapters.

Walker represents five chapters located in the Western Agency.

Members of the Health, Education and Human Services Committee picked Daniel E. Tso as chairperson and Charlaine Tso as vice chairperson.

Daniel E. Tso represents eight Eastern Agency chapters while Charlaine Tso represents the Northern Agency chapters of Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan.

Delegate Jamie Henio was appointed chairperson and Raymond Smith Jr. was named vice chairperson for the Budget and Finance Committee.

Henio represents three Eastern Agency chapters and Smith represents five chapters in the Fort Defiance Agency.

Read or Share this story: