Navajo leadership recognizes anniversary of treaty with U.S.

Document will be on display at Navajo Nation Museum

The Daily Times staff
Speaker LoRenzo Bates, left, Vice President Jonathan Nez, President Russell Begaye and Chief Justice JoAnn B. Jayne sign a proclamation recognizing the sesquicentennial anniversary of the treaty between the tribe and the U.S. government on Friday at the Navajo Nation Museum in Window Rock, Ariz.

FARMINGTON — Navajo Nation leaders signed a proclamation on Friday recognizing the sesquicentennial anniversary of the treaty between the United States and the tribe.

Navajo Nation President Russell Begaye, Vice President Jonathan Nez, Speaker LoRenzo Bates and Chief Justice JoAnn B. Jayne signed the declaration at the Navajo Nation Museum in Window Rock, Arizona.

The proclamation recognizes 2018 as "The Year of Naalstoos Sání" and as a time to honor and remember the strength and resiliency of the Navajo people.

Before the signing, the leaders commented on the significance of the Treaty of 1868.

"One hundred and fifty years ago, we went through some hard times as people, but we overcame. We are a strong nation, a strong people, and in 2018, we will magnify that to our younger generation," Nez said in a press release from the president's office.

In a judicial branch release, Jayne said she thought about the leaders who signed the treaty.

"They had the wisdom, they had the love, they had the courage to think about us. They are the ones that had to put their marks down on this naalstoos," she said.

As part of the commemorative event, the original treaty will be on loan from the National Archives and Records Administration to the Navajo Nation Museum in June.