Candidate filing period extends for offices

Noel Lyn Smith
Navajo Nation

FARMINGTON — There are more than 200 public offices on the Navajo Nation for which no one filed candidacy paperwork for the Aug. 30 primary election.

In response, the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors approved a resolution last week to reopen and extend the filing period for chapter presidents, vice presidents, secretary-treasurers, school boards and other offices that lack candidates.

The filing period reopened on June 10. It will close at 5 p.m. July 1, and the filing fee is $200 for all offices.

"It is in the best interest of voters, as well as potential candidates, that filing periods be extended for the various positions for which candidates did not file," the election board resolution states.

Candidates may pick up and file paperwork at the Navajo Election Administration offices in Shiprock and Crownpoint in New Mexico and in Chinle, Tuba City and Window Rock in Arizona.

In the Northern Agency, there are 42 seats. The following is a list of the chapters in San Juan County with positions that have no candidates.

The Beclabito Chapter has positions for the chapter president, grazing committee member and one position on the Beclabito Day School board.

The vice presidency, secretary-treasurer, grazing committee member and one seat on the Beclabito Day School board are open for the Gadii’ahi-Tokoi Chapter.

No one is running for secretary-treasurer offices in the Nenahnezad Chapter and in the Newcomb Chapter.

The San Juan Chapter has seats for a grazing committee member and a farm board member.

In the Shiprock Chapter, candidates are needed for the farm board member and for the one seat on the T’iis Nazbas Community School board.

The Tsé Alnaozt’i’í Chapter has no one running for the grazing committee member, as well as one position on the To’haali’ Community School board and two positions for Sanostee Day School board.

No one is running for the farm board member seat in the Tsé Daa K’aan Chapter.

The Upper Fruitland Chapter has no candidates for the farm board member and for the one position on the Nenahnezad Community School board.

The Nenahnezad Community School board also has one seat to represent the Shiprock and Tsé Alnaozt’i’í chapters, and a seat to represent the San Juan and Tsé Daa K'aan chapters.

Chapter members from those four chapters may apply for the school board seats.

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636.