Candidates file for Navajo Nation primary

Noel Lyn Smith
Navajo Nation

FARMINGTON — Candidates on the Navajo Nation have filed applications to run in the Aug. 30 primary election for chapter seats, school boards and other offices.

The Navajo Election Administration released the unofficial candidate list for the Northern Agency chapters today.

The election administration has up to 30 days from the date applications are received to review and certify them, according to tribal law.

Voters in the primary election will determine which candidates will continue to the Nov. 8 general election.

Incumbent Sammy Ahkeah is facing Wilbert Mark for one of the agency seats on the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors.

Running for the agency at-large seat for the Navajo Preparatory School board are incumbent Jennifer D. Laughter and Kerlena Tso and Matthew Tso.

Dewayne Johnson, Faye BlueEyes and Pete Ken Atcitty are seeking the agency at-large seat for Shiprock Associated Schools Inc. in Shiprock.

Incumbent board president Leonard Anthony faces Nikki Begay and Lula Jackson to represent Shiprock Chapter.

Incumbent board member Dorothy Begaye faces a challenge by Charlie Jones Jr. to represent Tsé Daa K'aan and Gadii'ahi-Tokoi chapters.

Board member Frank Smith is seeking re-election and faces Sarah Jane White to represent Tsé Alnaozt'i'Í and Toadlena-Two Grey Hills chapters.

For the Kinteel Residential Campus Inc. in Aztec, incumbent board member Sally Ann Joe is running against Kerby Johnson to represent Toadlena-Two Grey Hills, Tooh Haltsooí and Newcomb chapters.

Also running for re-election are board members Marian John for Shiprock Chapter and David Tsosie for Beclabito, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan chapters.

Gloria Harrison seeks the board position to represent Red Valley and Upper Fruitland chapters.

Candidates for the To'haali' Community School board in Toadlena are Stanley Hardy and Lynda Lasiloo to represent Toadlena-Two Grey Hills chapter and Louise Charley and Bennie Joe to represent Newcomb, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad and Tooh Haltsooí chapters.

William Foster is running unopposed to represent Nenahnezad and Shiprock chapters on the Dzilth-Na-O-Dith-Hle Community Grant School board.

In Beclabito Chapter, Hazel Sherman is challenging incumbent Jerry Benally for the vice presidency, and Larry Jack is running unopposed for secretary-treasurer.

There are no candidates for chapter president or grazing committee member, and no one has filed to represent the chapter on the Beclabito Day School board.

Incumbent Gadii'ahi-Tokoi Chapter President Carol Etcitty-Roger is facing a challenge from Harry Descheene Jr., while Gilbert Harrison Sr. is running unopposed for another term as farm board member.

There are no candidates for the chapter vice president, secretary-treasurer or grazing committee member nor for membership on the Beclabito Day School board.

All candidates in Nenahnezad Chapter are running unopposed.

Norman C. Begaye is seeking re-election as chapter president, Harold Dodge is seeking re-election for grazing committee member and Tracy Raymond is seeking re-election as farm board member.

Lucinda Yellowman-Bennalley is running for the vice presidency, and Brenda Willie is running for the Nenahnezad Community School board.

Newcomb Chapter President David Randolph Sr. and incumbent grazing committee member Lawrence Gould are both seeking re-election.

Incumbent chapter vice president Irving Gleason is facing a challenge by Willamena Smith.

Rick Nez is running unopposed and seeking re-election as San Juan Chapter president.

Sam Bee and Shawn Mike are running for vice president, and Audrey Nez is running for secretary-treasurer.

There are no candidates for the grazing committee or the farm board nor to represent the chapter on the Nenahnezad Community School board.

Incumbent Shiprock Chapter President Duane "Chili" Yazzie is facing challenges from Donald Benally, Nate Ellison, William Lee and Dan Smith.

Incumbent secretary-treasurer J. Kaibah Begay is running against Beverly Maxwell, and incumbent grazing committee member Robert Hayes is challenged by David Burbank.

Wallace Ben, Marian John and Nevina Kinlahcheeny are running for vice president, and Mae Yazzie Sandoval is running for the Beclabito Day School board.

In Tiis Tsoh Sikaad Chapter, Perry Begay Sr. is seeking re-election against Eliolieta Holtsoi.

Nancy Begay and Harrison LaMone are running for vice president, Elevena Begay and Samantha Begay are seeking the secretary-treasurer seat and Tanner Jacob Begaye is running for the grazing committee member.

Toadlena-Two Grey Hills Chapter President Stanley Hardy and Grazing Committee Member Derry Lewis are both running for re-election unopposed.

Incumbent vice president Andrew Deschenie faces challenges from Veronica Begay and LaVera Curley.

Incumbent secretary-treasurer Lolita Spencer is running against Angie Frank.

Tooh Haltsooí Chapter President Ernest Smith is facing challenges by Rose Charlie, Tommy Sandman and Brian Yazzie.

Incumbent vice president Louise Charley is facing challenges from Sadie Dez and Hannabah James.

Sarah Ann Joe is seeking the secretary-treasurer seat, and Bennie Joe is running unopposed in a re-election bid for grazing committee member.

Running for Tsé Alnaozt'i'í Chapter president are Alonzo Cohoe, Remnita Henderson, Frank Smith and Ruthda Thomas.

Cohoe is the chapter’s current grazing official, and Thomas is the current vice president.

Harvey Begay Jr., Gerald Henderson and Wilson Howard are seeking the vice presidency, and Temara Lewis-Emerson, Ray Nahkai Sr. and LaVerda Washburn are running for secretary-treasurer.

Phyllis Todacheene and Irvin Tyler are running for membership on the Sanostee Day School board. No one is running for grazing committee member.

Incumbent Tsé Daa K'aan Chapter President James Pioche is facing a challenge by Charlie Jones Jr., who is the current vice president.

Matthew Tso is running unopposed for the vice presidency, Dorothy Begaye and Reichell Salt are running for secretary-treasurer and Kenneth Johnson is seeking re-election as grazing committee member.

In Upper Fruitland Chapter, Robert Allen and Lynlaria Williams-Dickson are running for the presidency.

Faye BlueEyes and Hilda Murphy Soce are seeking the vice president seat, Lynelle Lee-Etsitty is running for secretary-treasurer and incumbent grazing committee member Laurence Bekise is facing a challenge from Ray Jim Jr.

There are no candidates for the farm board member seat nor for the position on the Nenahnezad Community School board.

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636.