These are the candidates seeking election in November 2019

Hannah Grover
Farmington Daily Times

AZTEC — Candidates for school boards and the San Juan Soil and Water Conservation District filed paperwork for the Nov. 5 election at the San Juan County Clerk’s Office on Aug. 27.

Five Valley Water and Sanitation District positions are also up for election in November, however no one filed to serve on the water board. That means the positions will be appointed.

Roger Collins files candidacy paperwork, Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, for the Aztec school board.

Aztec School Board

The most contentious race for Aztec School Board will be District 2. The incumbent board member did not file for reelection. However, state Rep. Paul Bandy is hoping to bring his years of political experience to the school board. He will face two other county residents from the Ruins Road area. Ryan Frost and Tamie Rana Hemmingson both filed for the District 2 seat.

Hemmingson said this is her first time seeking elected office and she thinks her fresh eyes will help her make a difference on the Aztec School Board.

“I want to make a difference,” she said after filing her paperwork.

Tamie Hemmingson files paperwork for Aztec School Board, Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, at San Juan County Clerk's Office in Aztec.

Meanwhile, Laci Phillips filed late on Aug. 27 for the District 4 seat. She will be running unopposed after the incumbent, Wayne Ritter, chose not to seek reelection.

School Board President Roger Collins will face Linda Reynolds in the District 5 race.

Bloomfield School Board

The Bloomfield School Board election will likely be fairly straight forward, with neither candidate facing an opponent. Political newcomer Steven Joel Gunn, better known as Joel, filed for District 1 while incumbent Dale Maes is seeking reelection for District 3.

Joel Gunn and Dale Maes file paperwork to run for Bloomfield school board, Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, at San Juan County Clerk's Office in Aztec.

Maes and Gunn filed their paperwork at the same time. Maes has been on the school board for six years. He was initially appointed to the position to fill in for a school board member who stepped down. He said he plans on working to continue on the success of the last few years, including improving school grades.

Gunn said this is his first time seeking elected office. He said he wants to see the schools continue to grow and improve in Bloomfield.

Farmington School Board

Farmington has one uncontested race and only two of the three incumbents are seeking reelection. Incumbent Stephanie Thompson will likely win another term representing District 1. She is the sole candidate in the District 1 race. Meanwhile the other incumbent seeking reelection, Kyle Rhodes, faces Andrea Turman in the race for District 4.

Desert View Family Counseling CEO Rick Quevedo is hoping to bring his expertise to the Farmington school board. He filed for the District 5 seat. While the incumbent in District 5 is not seeking reelection, Quevedo will face Joan Vallee in the election.

Central Consolidated School District Board

The most contentious race in San Juan County this November will be the race for CCSD District 2. Five candidates, including former state Rep. Sharon Clahchischilliage, filed for District 2. Other candidates include Jonnye Kaibah Candace Begay, Rose Nofchissey, Gary Montoya and Hoskie Benally Jr. Benally currently serves on the San Juan College Board.

Candidates file paperwork, Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, at San Juan County Clerk's Office in Aztec.

The incumbent for District 2, Adam Jerome Begaye, is not seeking reelection.

District 3 also has a contentious race, with incumbent Charlie Jones Jr. facing three challengers — Matthew Tso, Cheryl George and Jonathan Tso.

Like District 2, there will not be an incumbent running for reelection in District 5. Ruthda W. Thomas is not seeking reelection. Suzette Jean Haskie is running against Kerby Johnson for District 5.

San Juan College Board

Three college board positions are up for election and only one position will have an unopposed race.

Incumbent Joseph Rasor is running unopposed for another term representing District 4.

Olena Petrivna Erickson files her candidacy paperwork, Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, at San Juan County Clerk's Office in Aztec.

However, R. Shane Chance, the incumbent District 6 trustee, has three challengers — Mary Ellan LaRue, Aaron Favaloro and Tracey Lois Taylor.

The District 7 race will not have an incumbent. There will be a four-way race for District 7. Valerie Uselman, Olena Petrivna Erickson, Peter Deswood and Jennifer Quevedo are running for the seat.

San Juan Soil and Water Conservation District

DeAnne McKee is running unopposed for District 1. McKee has served approximately a decade on the district’s board of supervisors. Prior to moving to San Juan County, she also served on a soil and water conservation district board of supervisors in Sierra County. McKee currently serves as the vice president of the board.

Another incumbent, Cash Carruth, is also running unopposed. He represents District 2.

County Clerk Tanya Shelby helps DeAnne McKee file paperwork to run for election, Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019. She is seeking reelection to the San Juan Soil and Water Conservation District board of supervisors.

The final incumbent seeking reelection is Emma Lee Deyo, who represents the at-large District 5 seat. She will face Catherine Thomas-Kemp.

Passage of the Local Election Act means this is the first time the Soil and Water Conservation District’s election will be on a ballot with other races for elected office.

During a San Juan County Commission meeting on Aug. 27, District Manager Melissa May said she hopes having that district on the ballot will bring more attention to what the district does.

Hannah Grover covers government for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4652 or via email at

Support local journalism with a digital subscription: