What you need to know about Tuesday's election

The Daily Times staff
Voters line up to cast ballots, Tuesday Nov. 8, 2016, at the Farmington Museum at Gateway Park.

FARMINGTON — Tuesday is the last chance for people to vote in the midterm elections.

Early voting statewide ended Saturday, and polls will open at 7 a.m. Tuesday at 33 voting convenience centers throughout the county. Voters can cast ballots at any of those 33 locations. Polls will close at 7 p.m. Anyone in line to vote at 7 p.m. will still be able to cast ballots.

The San Juan County Clerk’s office website, sjcclerk.net, will track the wait time at voting convenience centers.

More than 19,500 San Juan County voters have already cast early or absentee ballots — which is approximately 26.7 percent of the county’s 72,963 registered voters.

Ballot includes governor, Congressional seats  

Voters have the chance to decide who they want to serve as New Mexico’s next governor. The current governor, Susana Martinez, has reached term limits and is unable to run again. Two U.S. representatives, Democrat Michelle Lujan Grisham and Republican Steve Pearce, are vying to take her place.

In addition, incumbent U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich, a Democrat, is facing two challengers on the ballot: Mick Rich, a Republican commercial contractor, and Gary Johnson, a Libertarian who formerly served as New Mexico’s governor and has twice ran for U.S. president.

In the 3rd Congressional District, which includes San Juan County, the incumbent Democrat Ben Ray Luján faces two challengers — Republican Jerald Steve McFall and Libertarian Chris Manning, who is a Kirtland resident.

The ballot also includes statewide, regional and local races. All state House seats are up for election, as well as the state land commissioner, attorney general, several seats on the New Mexico Court of Appeals, a New Mexico Supreme Court position, magistrate judge seats and secretary of state, among others.

Stickers are handed out to voters, Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2016 at the Farmington Civic Center.

Two County Commissioners are also up for election. These commissioners represent Districts 1 and 2. Neither current commissioners will be on the ballot. Margaret McDaniel, who represents District 2, has reached term limits and Wallace Charley, who represents District 1, was defeated by former County Commissioner GloJean Todacheene in the Democratic Party primary election. Todacheene faces write-in candidate Pete K. Atcitty III.

Candidates for District 2 include Democrat Ervin Chavez, Republican Michael Sullivan and Independent LoRenzo Bates.

To view a sample ballot that's specific to your address, visit the New Mexico Secretary of State's website and type in your name and related information: https://voterportal.servis.sos.state.nm.us/WhereToVote.aspx.

Two write-in candidates on the ballot

Atcitty is one of two write-in candidates on this year’s ballot. The lone candidate for district judge, Sarah Weaver, is running as a write-in candidate.

People wanting to vote for Atcitty or Weaver must fill in the bubble on the ballot and write their names next to it.

Election coverage 2018

Where to vote

  • Aztec Masonic Lodge
  • Beclabito Chapter Facilities
  • Blanco Fire Station
  • Bloomfield City Hall
  • Bloomfield Cultural Center
  • Brooks-Isham Performing Arts Center
  • Central Consolidated School District business office
  • Cedar Hill Fire Station
  • Crystal Chapter Facilities
  • Farmington City Hall
  • Farmington Civic Center
  • Farmington Museum at Gateway Park
  • Farmington Public Library
  • Flora Vista Fire Station
  • Gadii'ahi Chapter Facilities
  • Huerfano Chapter Facilities
  • Kirtland Youth Association
  • La Plata Community Center
  • Lake Valley School
  • McGee Park
  • Nageezi Chapter Facilities
  • Nenanhezad Chapter Facilities
  • Naschitti Chapter Facilities
  • Newcomb Fire Station
  • Phil Thomas Performance Hall
  • Piñon Hills Community Church
  • Piñon Hills Seventh Day Adventist Church
  • Sheep Springs Chapter Facilities
  • San Juan County Fire Operations Center
  • Sycamore Park Community Center
  • Tiis Tso Sikaad Chapter Facilities (Burnham)
  • Tse alnaozt'i'i Chapter Facilities (Sanostee)
  • Two Grey Hills Chapter Facilities