FARMINGTON – Anyone interested in being a candidate in the June 7 primary election must file his or her declaration of candidacy between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Tuesday.

The June 7 primary will determine who will run in the November general election for state representative, state senator, magistrate judge, county commissioner, county clerk, county treasurer and county assessor. All candidates should file a declaration of candidacy, which can be found online at

According to the filing notice, state representative seats for districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 65 and 69 will be up for election this year. Those seats are currently occupied by Rod Montoya, R-Farmington; James Strickler, R-Farmington; Paul Bandy, R-Aztec; Sharon Clahchischilliage, R-Kirtland; Wonda Johnson, D-Church Rock; Patricia Lundstrom, D-Gallup; James Madalena, D-Jemez Pueblo and Ken Martinez, D-Grants. District maps can be found online at Districts 5, 9, 65 and 69 are multi-county districts that include portions of San Juan County. Because multiple counties are represented in the district, candidates must file with the the New Mexico Secretary of State in Santa Fe. Other candidates can file at the San Juan County Clerk's Office. Representatives serve a two-year term.

State Senate seats for districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 22 will also be determined during the November election, according to the filing notice. The districts are currently represented by Bill Sharer, R-Farmington; Steve Neville, R-Aztec; John Pinto, D-Gallup; George Muñoz, D-Gallup; and Benny Shendo, D-Jemez Pueblo. Because Districts 3, 4 and 22 are multi-county districts, candidates must file with the New Mexico Secretary of State's Office in Santa Fe. District maps can be found at Other candidates can file at the San Juan County Clerk's Office. Senators serve a four-year term.

The San Juan County magistrate judge division 5 position is also up for election. Pat Cordell, a former Farmington police officer, currently serves as magistrate judge. He was appointed by Gov. Susana Martinez in July after James Mosberger resigned. Candidates can file at the San Juan County Clerk's Office.

People wishing to run for state representative, state senator or magistrate judge must fill out a declaration of candidacy and submit nominating petitions.

County Commission seats for districts 3, 4 and 5 are also up for election this year, according to the filing notice. Commission Chairman Scott Eckstein currently represents District 3, and Jack Fortner and Keith Johns represent districts 4 and 5. Commission candidates must include a $50 filing fee with their declaration of candidacy, according to the filing notice. Maps of the districts can be viewed online at Candidates can file at the San Juan County Clerk's Office.

In addition to commission seats, the county will also elect a clerk, treasurer and assessor. Debbie Holmes currently serves as county clerk, and Kirtland Mayor Mark Duncan serves as treasurer. Jimmy Voita serves as county assessor. Anyone wishing to declare candidacy for those three positions should include a $50 filing fee with their declaration of candidacy. Candidates can file at the San Juan County Clerk's Office.

For more information, call the San Juan County Clerk's office at 505-334-9471. The county clerk's office is located at 100 S. Oliver Drive in Aztec.

Read or Share this story: