Southeast New Mexico College board selects Dr. Andrew Nwanne as interim president

Claudia L Silva
Carlsbad Current-Argus
New Mexico State University- Carlsbad Interim President Dr. Andrew Nwanne discusses the transition to Southeast New Mexico College.

The Southeast New Mexico College (SENMC) Board of Trustees selected Dr. Andrew Nwanne as the college's interim president on Monday.

As interim president, Nwanne will represent the school, aid with the board's decision-making and help create a timeline for the transitions from New Mexico State University (NMSU) Carlsbad to an independent college.

Chairman of the Board Ned Elkins said the board considered two applicants for an interim president: John Heaton and Nwanne. The board announced its selection of Nwanne after a two-hour closed session.

More:SENMC discusses plans for $4 million GO Bond for vocational center, college transition

Board Secretary Tiffany Frintz said she considered morale and leadership when choosing a president.

“I feel like maybe you haven't been able to quite step up to your full potential because your hands are tied," Frintz said to Nwanne during the meeting. "So, we want to encourage your growth and leadership on campus and in the transition to feel empowered."

The board expects Nwanne to have a timeline for the transition within eight weeks, Elkins said.

"We are putting that pressure squarely on your shoulders," Elkins said. "We will help you any way we can but we don’t want, in eight weeks, to be talking about the complexities of things and the inability to get things done."

More:Carlsbad Middle School students promote outdoor learning bill during legislative session

Nwanne became NMSU Carlsbad's interim president in 2020 and worked with college staff and the community throughout the transition process.

Elkins said the college will still conduct an extensive search to find a permanent president for the college.

Claudia Silva is a reporter from the UNM Local Reporting Fellowship. She can be reached at, by phone at 575-628-5506 or on Twitter @thewatchpup.