Residents to vote on school board, bond elections

Joshua Kellogg
Voters wait in line to cast their votes for a Farmington schools bond election in 2014 at the Farmington Schools Central Office in Farmington.

FARMINGTON – Residents across San Juan County will vote Tuesday on nine board of education seats in four school districts and on whether to approve a $26 million bond for Farmington schools.

There is only one contested race among the nine school board positions on Tuedsay's ballot. The districts involved are Aztec Municipal School District, Bloomfield School District, Central Consolidated School District and Farmington Municipal School District.

Incumbent Christina J. Aspaas, the secretary for the CCSD Board of Education, is running against Ramondo Clah for the District 4 seat.

Sheldon Pickering is running unopposed for the CCSD District 1 seat after board President Randy Manning declined to run for reelection.

In the CCSD school board election, residents can vote at the Nenahnezad Chapter, which is west on U.S. Highway 64, south on County Road 6675 and north on Navajo Route 365 in Fruitland, and at Judy Nelson Elementary School at 40 Country Road 6580 in Kirtland.

Voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday and the voting convenience centers will accept absentee ballots while the polls are open.

Farmington voters have two board of education seats on their ballot along with the proposed $26 million general obligation bond measure.

Robyn Hoffman, District 2 representative and board secretary, is running for reelection unopposed. Vernon Corley is running for the District 3 seat that Bill Young is leaving after two terms on the board.

The $26 million bond is expected to fund projects at nearly all district schools along with repairs for district administration and operations buildings. If approved, the district's tax rate of $9.691 per $1,000 net taxable value of a home would remain the same.

A scheduled $7.9 million renovation and expansion of McCormick Elementary School is the largest project included in the bond.

Farmington residents can vote at three convenience centers for the bond and school board elections: the Farmington Museum at Gateway Park at 3041 E. Main St., the Farmington schools central administration office at 2001 N. Dustin Ave., and Sycamore Park Community Center at 1051 Sycamore St.

Election volunteer Tommy Brown, center, registers votes for a Farmington schools bond election in 2014 at the Farmington Schools Central Office in Farmington.

Three school board members for Bloomfield schools are running unopposed.

Current board member Bruce Armenta is running for the District 2 seat and Veronica Tso, current District 5 representative and board secretary is also on the ballot. Tony DeHerrera is running unopposed for the District 4 seat after current board Vice President Eric Smith did not file to run.

For Aztec, current District 3 representative Jimmy Dusenberry is running for re-election.

Fran Dobey, Park Avenue Elementary School teacher, is running for the District 1 seat as board member Mitch Waggoner did not file paperwork to run again.

Due to the Aztec and Bloomfield school board candidates running unopposed, residents can vote at the San Juan County clerk's office in the county administration building at 100 S. Oliver Drive in Aztec.

Joshua Kellogg covers education for The Daily Times. He can be reached at 505-564-4627.

Editor's note: This story was updated on Feb. 7 to correct an error. The story incorrectly listed the candidate for the Bloomfield School District Board of Education District 4 seat. Tony DeHerrera is running unopposed for that seat.