Navajo Election Administration certifies results of Navajo Nation special election

The Daily Times staff
The Daily Times

FARMINGTON — The Navajo Election Administration has certified the results of the April 21 special election for the Navajo Nation.

On Monday, Edison Wauneka, executive director of the election administration, certified the results of the race for the presidency and for seats on the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors, among other offices.

The official results show President-elect Russell Begaye and Vice President-elect Jonathan Nez received 25,902 votes, and former president Joe Shirley Jr. and his running mate, Dineh Benally, received 15,245 votes.

For the Northern Agency seat on the election board, Shiprock resident Sammy Ahkeah received 5,745 votes to defeat Shiprock resident William Lee, who received 2,660 votes.

The official results report there were 44,162 ballots cast in the special election. The Navajo Nation had 118,673 registered voters for the special election, according to the election administration. That means voter turnout was about 37 percent.

The inauguration for new tribal officials will take place at 10:30 a.m. May 12 at the Bee Hóldzil Fighting Scouts Events Center in Fort Defiance, Ariz., the president-elect said in press release.