Voter registration opens for Navajo Nation general election

Noel Lyn Smith The Daily Times
The Daily Times

FARMINGTON — The voter registration period for the Navajo Nation's Nov. 4 general election starts today.

Voter registration can be completed at any of the Navajo Election Administration's agency offices.

In New Mexico, those offices are located in Shiprock and Crownpoint and in Arizona, they are in Chinle, Tuba City and Window Rock.

Individuals must be older than 18 and have a census number issued by the Navajo Office of Vital Records.

The deadline for voter registration is 5 p.m. on Oct. 6.

Locally, voter registration can be completed at the Farmington Indian Center, 100 W. Elm St.

Yvonne Suina, an aide at the Indian Center, said people need to provide their social security numbers along with valid driver's licenses or identification cards, and their Certificates of Indian Blood.

Individuals can also register at the National Indian Youth Council, 653 W. Broadway Ave., in Farmington.

Angelita Joe, field office manager for the youth council, said registration can take place Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. but the office is closed for lunch from noon to 1 p.m.

Out of 22,558 registered voters in the Northern Agency, 10,207 cast ballots in the Aug. 26 primary election, according to the unofficial voter participation report released by the election administration.

The Nov. 4 general election will determine who serves as president, on the Navajo Nation Council, on the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors and on the Navajo Nation Board of Education among other offices.

Former Arizona state representative Chris Deschene and his running mate Fannie L. Atcitty are facing former tribal president Joe Shirley Jr. and his running mate Dineh Benally for the presidency.

In the council races, former state representative Ray Begaye and longtime educator Tom Chee are competing to represent Shiprock Chapter.

Incumbent and Pro Tem Speaker LoRenzo Bates is facing former delegate George Arthur to represent the Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tsé Daa K'aan and Upper Fruitland chapters.

Larry Duncan, of Tsé Alnaozt'i'í Chapter, and Amber Kanazbah Crotty, of Sheep Springs Chapter, are competing to represent the Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Sheep Springs, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í chapters.

Former delegate Davis Filfred is challenging Tólikan Chapter resident Steven S. Benally to represent the Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan chapters.

Today is also the deadline to file grievances for the primary election with the Navajo Nation Office of Hearings and Appeals in Window Rock, Ariz., as well as the deadline for candidates to file campaign expense statements.

Edison Wauneka, executive director of the election administration, said if no grievances are filed, the primary election results could be certified by the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors during a Sept. 11 meeting in Window Rock.

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636 and

. Follow her on Twitter


on Twitter.