Unofficial results of the Navajo Nation primary elections

The Daily Times staff
The Daily Times

Presidential Candidates

Joe Shirley Jr.: 10,910

Chris Deschene: 9,734

Russell Begaye: 7,404

Donald Benally: 5,286

Kenneth Maryboy: 3,153

Edison J. Wauneka: 2,454

Ben Shelly (Incumbent): 2,454

Myron McLaughlin: 2,333

Carrie Lynn Martin: 2,136

Dale E. Tsosie: 1,278

Duane H. Yazzie: 1,112

Moroni Benally: 965

Cal Nez: 592

Edison “Chip” Begay: 547

Hank Whitethorne: 398

Kee Yazzie Mann: 336

Dan Smith: 216

Navajo Nation Council

Shiprock Chapter

Ray Begaye: 540

Tom Chee: 468

Wallace Charley: 301

Lula Jackson: 225

William Lee: 187

Rose Fasthorse Nofchissey: 178

Myron K. Begay: 66

Wilbur M. Nelson Jr.: 42

Jerry Jay Todacheene: 17

Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tsé Daa K'aan and Upper Fruitland Chapters

LoRenzo Bates (Incumbent): 1,505

George Arthur: 614

Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Sheep Springs, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í Chapters

Larry Duncan: 662

Amber Kanazbah Crotty: 572

Everett Howe: 468

JR Hunt: 390

David L. Tom (Incumbent): 240

Eloise Brown: 228

Stanley Hardy: 207

Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan Chapters

Davis Filfred: 869

Steven S. Benally: 435

Herman Farley: 411

Francis Redhouse: 316

David L. John: 266

Bahastl'ah, Coyote Canyon, Mexican Springs, Naschitti and Tohatchi Chapters

Mel R. Begay (Incumbent): 939

Harrison Plummer: 576

Willis Nez: 426

Peter Watchman: 269

Carol W. Bitsoi: 245

Hoskie Bryant: 219

Tom Ranger: 145

Baca-Prewitt, Casamero Lake, Counselor, Littlewater, Ojo Encino, Pueblo Pintado, Torreon and Whitehorse Lake Chapters

Leonard Tsosie (Incumbent): 747

Daniel E. Tso: 547

Fernie Yazzie: 482

Hoskie Kee: 272

Becenti, Crownpoint, Huerfano, Lake Valley, Nageezi, Nahodishgish, Tsé ‘íí'áhí and Whiterock Chapters

Jonathan Perry: 573

Danny Simpson (Incumbent): 518

Ben Woody Jr.: 370

Janice Padilla: 305

Gilbert Roger: 245

Julius Elwood: 221

Andrew C. Charley: 176

Church Rock, Iyanbito, Mariano Lake, Pinedale, Smith Lake and Thoreau Chapters

Edmund E. Yazzie (Incumbent): 1,361

Anselm Morgan: 675

Titus Jay Nez: 571

Anthony Begay: 244

Alamo, Ramah and Tóhajiilee Chapters

Martha Garcia: 466

Norman M. Begay: 396

Leo L. Pino: 190

Buddy Mexicano: 163

George Apachito (Incumbent): 81

Lukachukai, Rock Point, Round Rock, Tsaile-Wheatfields and Tsé Ch'ízhí Chapters

Nelson S. BeGaye (Incumbent): 669

Norman L. Begay: 480

Zane James: 474

Margie R.S. Begay: 390

Jaye R. Tom: 326

Chinle Chapter

Leonard Pete (Incumbent): 807

Harry Claw: 491

Eugene Tso: 419

Oak Springs and St. Michaels Chapters

Jonathan Hale (Incumbent): 799

Curran Hannon: 403

Houck, Klagetoh, Lupton, Nahata Dziil and Wide Ruins Chapters

Lorenzo Curley (Incumbent): 536

Raymond Smith Jr.: 340

Arbin Mitchell: 301

Darrell Tso: 293

LaVerne Joe: 272

Clarence Chee: 160

LaVonne Tsosie: 153

Cornfields, Ganado, Jeddito, Kin Dah Lichíí and Steamboat Chapters

Alton Joe Shepherd (Incumbent): 2,133

Dilkon, Greasewood Springs, Indian Wells, Teesto and White Cone Chapters

Lee Jack Sr.: 603

Elmer P. Begay (Incumbent): 553

Eula C. Yazzie: 373

Henry Haskie: 179

Bill Spencer: 142

Navajo Mountain, Oljato, Shonto and Ts'ah bii Kin Chapters

Jonathan Nez (Incumbent): 1,524

Forest Lake, Hardrock, Kíts'íílí, Piñon and Whippoorwill Chapters

Dwight Witherspoon (Incumbent): 1,148

Jimmy Yellowhair: 516

Bill Yazzie: 340

Cameron, Coalmine Mesa, Leupp, Tolani Lake and Tsídii To'ii Chapters

Leonard Chee: 804

Walter Phelps (Incumbent): 743

Lorenzo Robbins: 184

Crystal, Fort Defiance, Red Lake and Sawmill Chapters

Tom M. White Jr.: 530

Benjamin L. Bennett: 475

Genevieve J. Jackson: 463

Virginia A. Benally: 362

Alfred Barney: 267

Arval T. McCabe: 183

Juanita J. Martinez-Chavez: 151

Bááháálí, Chichiltah, Manuelito, Red Rock, Rock Springs and Tsayatoh Chapters

Seth Damon: 858

Paul Houston: 444

Walter B. Hudson: 364

Arlene Nakai-Brown: 324

Emily Ellison: 313

Maureen Curley: 183

Christopher H. Morris: 133

William Skeet: 129

Chancey Martinez: 86

Blue Gap-Tachee, Cottonwood-Tselani, Low Mountain, Many Farms and Nazlini Chapters

Kee Allen Begay Jr.: 897

Crystalyne Gayle Curley: 519

Harry Gorman Jr.: 397

Lee Vincent Bigwater: 278

Sampson Begay: 223

Marlene Thomas: 187

Chilchinbeto, Dennehotso and Kayenta Chapters

Walter Begay Jr.: 466

Nathaniel Brown: 417

Stanley Clitso: 410

Harrison Tsosie: 211

Sylvia Laughter: 210

Teddy Begay: 104

Bodaway-Gap, Coppermine, K'ai'bii'tó, LeChee and Red Lake-Tonalea Chapters

Tauchoney Slim Jr.: 565

Regina Allison: 467

Shalinda Johnson: 344

Billy Arizona Jr.: 263

Darrell R. Marks: 242

Marie B. Acothley: 157

Chester Claw: 149

Darlene Martin: 92

Tó Nanees Dizí Chapter

Otto Tso: 489

James Bilagody: 274

Angie Williams: 239

Raymond Maxx: 206

Perry B. Yazzie: 69

Navajo Board of Election Supervisors

Northern Agency

Watona Kellywood: 6,192

Eastern Agency

Leslie Chavez: 5,778

Clara Jean Daye: 4,251

Fort Defiance Agency

LeNora Y. Fulton: 8,313

Bertha Aguirre: 4,013

Western Agency

Ruth Gilmore: 5,076

Ruth H. Watson: 3,144

Navajo Board of Education

Northern Agency

Bernadette Todacheene: 7,443

Eastern Agency

Dolly C. Begay: 4,558

Pauleen A. Billie: 4,219

Bucky B. Apache: 1,666

Fort Defiance Agency

Pauline M. Begay: 10,240

Chinle Agency

Marlene Burbank: 5,723

Western Agency

Delores Greyeyes: 3,949

Asa Begaye: 3,210

Marlene Laughter: 1,210

At-Large Contests

Shiprock Associated Schools Inc.

Northern Agency

Kerlena Tso: 4,762

Mae Y. Sandoval: 3,615

Navajo Preparatory School

Fort Defiance Agency

Sherrick Roanhorse: 8,633

Larry Rodgers: 2,661

Dibé Yazhi' Habit' lin-Borrego Pass School

Baca-Prewitt and Casamero Lake Chapters

Janet Mariano: 456