Four Shiprock residents among the 17 running for Navajo Nation president

Noel Lyn Smith The Daily Times
The Daily Times

FARMINGTON — Four members from Shiprock Chapter are in the running for president of the Navajo Nation.

Russell Begaye, Donald Benally, Dan Smith and Duane "Chili" Yazzie are among the 17 presidential hopefuls on the unofficial candidate list released by the Navajo Election Administration on Thursday.

Wednesday was the filing deadline for the presidency, the Navajo Nation Council, the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors and the Navajo Nation Board of Education among other offices.

Other individuals from New Mexico running for the presidency are Edison "Chip" Begay, of Tohatchi Chapter; Cal Nez, of Tsé Alnaozt'i'í Chapter; and incumbent President Ben Shelly, of Thoreau Chapter.

Rounding out the large crowd of presidential candidates are Arizona residents Moroni Benally, of Tólikan Chapter; Chris Deschene and Dale E. Tsosie, both of LeChee Chapter; Kee Yazzie Mann, of K'ai'bii'tó Chapter; Carrie Lynn Martin, of Bodaway-Gap Chapter; Kenneth Maryboy, of Mexican Water Chapter; Myron McLaughlin and Joe Shirley Jr., both of Chinle Chapter; Edison J. Wauneka, of Oak Springs Chapter; and Hank Whitethorne, of Shonto Chapter.

There are 23 people running for the council from chapters in the Northern Agency.

Steven S. Begay, Herman Farley, Davis Filfred, David L. John and Francis Redhouse filed their candidate paperwork to represent the chapters of Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan.

Incumbent David L. Tom is challenged by Eloise Brown, Amber Kanazbah Crotty, Larry Duncan, Stanley Hardy, Everett Howe and J.R. Hunt to represent the chapters of Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Sheepsprings, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í.

Vying to represent Shiprock Chapter are Myron K. Begay, Ray Begaye, Wallace Charley, Tom Chee, Lula Jackson, William Lee, Wilbur M. Nelson Jr., Rose Fasthorse Nofchissey and Jerry Jay Todacheene.

Incumbent LoRenzo Bates is challenged by George Arthur to serve as the delegate for the Nenahnezad, Newcomb, San Juan, Tiis Tsoh Sikaad, Tsé Daa K'aan and Upper Fruitland chapters.

Also seeking reelection to the council are delegates George Apachito, Elmer P. Begay, Mel R. Begay, Nelson S. BeGaye, Lorenzo Curley, Jonathan L. Hale, Jonathan Nez, Leonard H. Pete, Walter Phelps, Alton Joe Shepherd, Danny Simpson, Leonard Tsosie, Dwight Witherspoon and Edmund E. Yazzie.

Watona Kellywood, of Tsé Daa K'aan Chapter, is running for the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors and Bernadette Todacheene, of Shiprock Chapter, filed her candidate application for the tribe's board of education.

Both are running unopposed for the Northern Agency seats.

Under tribal law, the election administration has up to 30 days to review and certify a candidate application from the date it was received.

Voters in the primary election on Aug. 26 will determine which candidates will continue on to the Nov. 4 general election.

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636 and

. Follow her on Twitter


on Twitter.