Filing period for Navajo Nation election ends Wednesday

Noel Lyn Smith
The Daily Times

FARMINGTON — The last day to file applications for the Navajo Nation presidency and the Navajo Nation Council is 5 p.m. on Wednesday.

This year's election will also determine who will serve on the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors, the Navajo Nation Board of Education and the Township in Kayenta, Ariz.

All applications filed on Wednesday must be submitted to the resources room at the Navajo Nation Museum in Window Rock, Ariz., according to the Navajo Election Administration.

The five agency election offices will be closed on Wednesday and personnel will be unavailable because they will be working at the museum.

As of May 15, the list of presidential hopefuls consisted of Donald Benally, of Shiprock Chapter; Kenneth Maryboy, of Mexican Water Chapter in Arizona; Ben Shelly, of Thoreau Chapter; Myron McLaughlin and Joe Shirley Jr., both of Chinle Chapter in Arizona; and Christopher C. Deschene and Dale Edison Tsosie, both of LeChee Chapter in Arizona.

Seven other people have picked up applications for the presidency but have not filed the forms with the required $1,500 filing fee, according to the election administration.

More names have been added to the list of candidates running for the Navajo Nation Council from chapters in the Northern Agency.

Former delegates Davis Filfred, of Aneth Chapter in Utah; David L. John, of Mexican Water Chapter in Arizona; and Francis Redhouse, of Teec Nos Pos Chapter in Arizona have filed their candidate paperwork for the council seat representing the chapters of Aneth, Mexican Water, Red Mesa, Teec Nos Pos and Tólikan.

Amber Crotty, of Sheepsprings, filed her application to serve as the delegate for the Beclabito, Cove, Gadii'ahi-Tokoi, Red Valley, Sheepsprings, Toadlena-Two Grey Hills and Tsé Alnaozt'i'í chapters.

Jerry Jay Todacheene, of Shiprock, is running for the delegate seat to represent Shiprock Chapter.

Todacheene is one of four Democrats running for the San Juan County Commissioner District 1 seat.

He also ran for tribal president in 2010 and filed the complaint challenging Shirley's candidacy for a third consecutive presidential term in the 2010 election.

The Navajo Nation Supreme Court upheld the decision made by the election administration that tribal law prohibits presidential candidates from running for a third consecutive term.

Voters in the primary election on Aug. 26 will determine which candidates will continue on to the Nov. 4 general election.

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for The Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636. Follow her @nsmithdt on Twitter.